ASFPG

Altonaer Stiftung für philosophische Grundlagenforschung

  Home     The Foundation     Projects     Altona     Links     Contact  

Deutsche Version

From the statute

Organisation

Premisses


Preamble

The establishment of the Foundation may be said to constitute the intellectual legacy of three generations: that of the donor's father, a chemical engineer by profession, who sustained a life-long interest in philosophical issues, the donor himself, who read philosophy while following his main course of study in economics, and finally, the donor's son, who was fortunate enough to be able to devote himself entirely to a scholarly career in philosophy and mathematics. In the course of these studies it became apparent that today, a fruitful interaction between mathematics and metaphysics, as is to be found in Antiquity and again at the close of the Renaissance (Descartes, Spinoza, Leibniz), faces the difficulty that metaphysics has long ceased to communicate with mathematics and the natural sciences.

It is the desire of the donor to work against this growing alieniation between the sciences and the humanities by fostering and furthering well-founded projects integrating mathematical-scientific and metaphysical-philosophical thought, particularly in the fields of logic, law and ethics.


Article 1

Name, Legal Form, Seat

1. The Foundation shall be known by the name

"Altonaer Stiftung für philosophische Grundlagenforschung".

It shall be an independant foundation established under the German Civil Code and shall have legal capacity.

2. The Foundation shall have its seat in the city-state of Hamburg, Germany.

Article 2
Purpose

1. The Foundation shall pursue directly and exclusively non-profit making objectives as detailed in the section on "tax-favoured purposes" of the German Tax Code (Abgabenordnung).

2. Sole and immediate purpose of the Foundation shall be the advancement of knowledge and research.

3. In particular its objective shall be to support research in furtherance of the foundational and interdisciplinary study of dialectics in the fields of logic, epistemology, mathematics, metaphysics, applied ethics and law.

In order to fulfill this purpose, the Foundation shall, in particular

  1. establish and maintain a scientific database featuring source and reference material and offering open access, and maintain a web presence documenting the activities of the Foundation,

  2. conduct seminars in specialized fields crucial to the advancement of interdisciplinary research and designed for scholars of the relevant disciplines (e.g. introductory and advanced courses in mathematical logic for students of philosophy).

  3. organize and sponsor such scholarly forums/platforms (seminars, conferences, symposia - for which assistance with accomodation and travel may be provided in reasonable measure to selected participants) as support the purposes of the Foundation,

  4. maintain and make available the premises/facilities for said purposes,

  5. assign, execute and fund such research projects (by the allocation of stipends and by contributions toward printing costs) as support the purposes of the Foundation,

  6. publish such studies (e.g. yearbooks) as support the purposes of the Foundation,

  7. further and foster cooperation with other agencies, institutions and initiatives dedicated to similar purposes in Germany and abroad.

  8. Should the development of assets of the Foundation allow, the Foundation may further achieve the purposes specified under 2) by providing and maintaining a reference library servicing the objectives of the Foundation (procurement and provision of source material, i.e. primary sources, journal abstracts/excerpts, CD/ROMs etc.) and by furnishing work stations for source study and research.

ASFPG

Altonaer Stiftung für philosophische Grundlagenforschung

  Startseite     Über die Stiftung     Projekte     Altona     Links     Kontakt  

English version

Aus der Satzung

Organisation

Räumlichkeiten


Präambel

Der Vater des Stifters hat als chemisch-technischer Ingenieur philosophische Interessen gepflegt. Der Stifter selbst hat neben seinem wirtschaftswissenschaftlichen Studium auch philosophische Vorlesungen besucht. Dem Sohn des Stifters war es schliesslich vergönnt, die Philosophie als Beruf zu ergreifen, wobei er sein Studium der Philosophie mit einem Studium der Mathematik verknüpfte. Dabei zeigte sich jedoch, dass einem fruchtbaren Zusammenwirken von Mathematik und Metaphysik, wie es in der griechischen Antike und auch noch im Ausgang der Renaissance (Descartes, Spinoza, Leibniz) zu finden ist, heute entgegensteht, dass die Metaphysik seit geraumer Zeit aufgehört hat, mit der Mathematik zu kommunizieren.

Vor diesem Hintergrund ist es die Absicht des Stifters der seit der Renaissance unaufhaltsam wachsenden Kluft zwischen Natur- und Geisteswissenschaften entgegenzuwirken, und zwar durch eine Förderung von Projekten, die auf fundierte Weise mathematisch-naturwissenschafltliches und metaphysisches Denken auf den verschiedensten Gebieten, insbesondere aber Logik, Recht und Ethik, vereinen.

1
Name, Rechtsform, Sitz

1. Die Stiftung führt den Namen:

"Altonaer Stiftung für philosophische Grundlagenforschung".

Sie ist eine rechtsfähige Stiftung bürgerlichen Rechts.

2. Die Stiftung hat ihren Sitz in der Freien und Hansestadt Hamburg.

2
Stiftungszweck

1. Die Stiftung verfolgt ausschließlich und unmittelbar gemeinnützige Zwecke im Sinne des Abschnitts "steuerbegünstigte Zwecke" der Abgabenordnung.

2. Ausschließlicher und unmittelbarer Zweck der Stiftung ist die Förderung der Wissenschaft und Forschung.

3. Gefördert werden soll insbesondere die interdisziplinäre Grundlagenforschung zur Dialektik in Logik, Epistemologie, Mathematik, Metaphysik, angewandter Ethik und Recht. Der Stiftungszweck wird insbesondere verwirklicht durch

  1. die Erstellung und Unterhaltung einer elektronischen wissenschaftlichen Datenbank zur Erfassung der Fachliteratur, die auch über das Internet eingesehen und abgefragt werden kann, sowie die Erstellung und Unterhaltung einer Internetpräsenz, die über die Arbeit der Stiftung informiert,

  2. die Durchführung von Kursen, die im Rahmen interdisziplinärer Forschung fachspezifisches Wissen Vertretern anderer Disziplinen zugänglich machen (z. B. Einführungs- und Fortbildungskurse zur mathematischen Logik für Philosophen),

  3. die Unterstützung und Durchführung wissenschaftlicher Veranstaltungen (Seminare, Tagungen, Symposien, einschließlich Erstattung von angemessenen Reise- und Unterkunftskosten für ausgewählte Teilnehmer), die dem Zweck der Stiftung dienen,

  4. den Unterhalt von Räumlichkeiten für die vorgenannten Zwecke,

  5. die Vergabe, Durchführung und Unterstützung (einschließlich Vergabe von Stipendien und Druckkostenzuschüsse) wissenschaftlicher Forschungsprojekte, die dem Zweck der Stiftung dienen; Näheres ist in Förderrichtlinien zu regeln,

  6. die Veröffentlichung von Forschungsarbeiten (z.B. in Form eines Jahrbuchs), die dem Zweck der Stiftung dienen,

  7. die Förderung und Unterstützung der Zusammenarbeit mit anderen Institutionen und Initiativen vergleichbarer Zielsetzung im In- und Ausland.

  8. Sofern die Vermögensentwicklung der Stiftung es zulässt, kann die Stiftung die in Nr. 2 niedergelegten Zwecke zudem verwirklichen durch die Einrichtung und Unterhaltung einer Fachbibliothek, die dem Zweck der Stiftung dient (Beschaffung und Bereitstellung von fachspezifischen Forschungsunterlagen wie Bücher, Artikel aus Fachzeitschriften, CD-ROMs, etc.) und die Bereitstellung von Computerterminals zur wissenschaftlichen Arbeit.