ASFPG

Altonaer Stiftung für philosophische Grundlagenforschung

  Home     The Foundation     Projects     Altona     Links     Contact  

Deutsche Version

From the statute

Organisation

Premisses

Direction and Administration

The Foundation is directed by a Board constituted by Uwe Petersen (Chair), Valerie Kerruish (Deputy Chair), and Matthias Kaiser. Its administrator and secretary is Ulrike Horway.

Organisation

The Foundation engages mainly in three areas:
  • dialectical logic und speculative philosophy,
  • legal theory, and
  • applied ethics.

It is organised accordingly as a Centre for Speculative Logic convened by Uwe Petersen, a Centre for Legal Theory convened by Valerie Kerruish, and a Centre for Applied Ethics convened by Matthias Kaiser.

Centre for environmental and technology ethics

For further information please contact Matthias Kaiser at matthias.kaiser@asfpg.de.

Centre for Legal Theory

The Centre will support the interdisciplinary study of the conceptual, social and political foundations of law with particular reference to the role of colonialism in the emergence of modern forms of law.

The genre of legal theory pursued at the Centre continues the interdisciplinary endeavours of Critical Legal Theory and of Legal Studies in the common law jurisdictions of Great Britain and its erstwhile colonies. What is characteristic of this genre is the displacement and critique of the point of view internal to law by reference to points of view of other disciplines or theoretical approaches.

The Centre has three principal foci: foundations of law, the study of law as a social and cultural phenomenon, and law's relation to its past within particular jurisdictions. The legacy of British colonialism in the legal relations established with indigenous peoples in the former colonies is a particular topic of research at the Centre.

The language of the Centre is English.

For more information, please contact Valerie Kerruish at valerie.kerruish@asfpg.de.

Centre for the development of speculative logic

Building on Uwe Petersen's work in dialectical logic and speculative philosophy (cf. Diagonal Method and Dialectical Logic, in particluar Part G, The Calculus of Dialectical Logic) the Centre pursues the goal of locating thought determinations in an area which is occupied in classical (as well as intuitionistic) sequential logic by the structural rules. On the basis of a higher-order logic, i.e. a logic with unrestricted abstraction, which has no structural rules at all (not even associativity of assumptions which is commonly provided without explicit mention), the role of the structural rules is to be replaced in a step by step fashion by intensional notions. The number of basic logical constants is to be kept as low as possibly, preferably only a single one, a form of inclusion. The intensional notions to be developed are designed to reflect the characteristic features of classical thought determinations (categories). The introduction of the Z-inferences and the definition of the notions of necessity and weak implication in Capter XXXIII of Diagonal Method and Dialectical Logic serve as a paradigm here.

The Centre for the Development of Speculative Logic is constantly seeking co-workers with a solid grasp of the Gentzen calculus, who are able to understand and devise on their own account, complex metamathematical proofs.

For more information, please contact Uwe Petersen at uwe.petersen@asfpg.de.

ASFPG

Altonaer Stiftung für philosophische Grundlagenforschung

  Startseite     Über die Stiftung     Projekte     Altona     Links     Kontakt  

English version

Aus der Satzung

Organisation

Räumlichkeiten

Leitung und Verwaltung

Die Stiftung wird durch einen Vorstand geleitet, bestehend aus Uwe Petersen (Vorsitzender), Valerie Kerruish (Stellvertretende Vorsitzende), und Matthias Kaiser. Für die Verwaltung ist Ulrike Horway zuständig.

Organisation

Die Altonaer Stiftung für philosophische Grundlagenforschung arbeitet in der Hauptsache auf drei Gebieten:
  • dialektische Logik und spekulative Philosophie,
  • Rechtstheorie, und
  • angewandte Ethik.

Entsprechend hat die Stiftung drei Zentren, ein Entwicklungszentrum für spekulative Logik, geleitet von Uwe Petersen, ein Zentrum für Rechtstheorie, geleitet von Valerie Kerruish, und ein Zentrum für angewandte Ethik, geleitet von Matthias Kaiser.

Zentrum für Umwelt- und Technologie Ethik

Anfragen bitte an Matthias Kaiser unter matthias.kaiser@asfpg.de.

Zentrum für Rechtstheorie

Das Zentrum soll das interdisziplinäre Studium der begrifflichen, sozialen und politischen Rechtsgrundlagen unterstützen, unter besonderer Berücksichtigung der Rolle des Kolonialismus bei der Entstehung moderner Rechtsformen.

Das Genre der Rechtstheorie, das am Zentrum verfolgt wird, führt die interdisziplinären Bestrebungen der Critical Legal Theory und Legal Studies fort, die in den letzten Jahrzehnten im Rechtsbereich des "Common Law" Grossbritanniens und seiner ehemaligen Kolonien geführt wurde. Charakteristisch für dieses Genre ist die Verschiebung und die Kritik des internen Gesichtspunktes des Rechtssystems, durch Bezug auf Ansichten anderer Disziplinen oder theoretischer Herangehensweisen.

Das Zentrum hat drei Schwerpunkte: Grundlagen des Rechts, Studium des Rechts mit Blick auf das Recht als ein soziales und kulturelles Phänomen und auf die Vergangenheitsbewältigung innerhalb verschiedener Rechtssysteme.

Das Erbe des britischen Kolonialismus, hinsichtlich der rechtlichen Stellung der einheimischen Bevölkerung in den ehemaligen Kolonien ist ein bevorzugtes Thema am Zentrum.

Die Sprache am Zentrum ist Englisch.

Für weitere Information, bitte an Valerie Kerruish: valerie.kerruish@asfpg.de wenden.

Entwicklungszentrum für spekulative Logik

Aufbauend auf der Arbeit von Uwe Petersen zur dialektischen Logik und spekulativen Philosophie (vgl. Diagonal Method and Dialectical Logic, insbesondere Part G, The Calculus of Dialectical Logic) verfolgt das Zentrum das Ziel, Denkbestimmungen in einem Bereich zu lokalisieren, der in der klassischen (wie auch intuitionistischen) Sequenzenlogik durch die Strukturschlussregeln besetzt ist. Auf der Grundlage einer höheren Logik, d.i. Logik mit uneingeschränkter Abstraktion, in der keinerlei Strukturschlussregeln zur Verfügung stehen (auch nicht die üblicherweise stillschweigend hingenommene Assoziativität der Annahmen) soll der Bereich der Strukturschlüsse schrittweise durch intensionale Operatoren erschlossen werden. Dabei soll die Anzahl der logischen Grundkonstanten so gering wie möglich gehalten werden, idealerweise nur eine einzige Grundkonstante, eine Form der Inklusion. Die zu entwickelnden intensionalen Operatoren sollen die charakteristischen Merkmale von klassischen Denkbestimmungen (Kategorien) widerspiegeln. Die Einführung der Z-Schlüsse und die Definition des Notwendigkeitsoperators in Kapitel XXXIII von Diagonal Method and Dialectical Logic dienen dabei als Vorbild.

Das Entwicklungszentrum für spekulative Logik sucht laufend Mitarbeiter, die über ein solides Verständnis des Gentzenkalküls verfügen und in der Lage sind auch komplexe metamathematische Beweise zu verstehen und selbständig zu entwickeln.

Anfragen bitte an Uwe Petersen unter uwe.petersen@asfpg.de.